April Board Recognitions Honor State Qualifiers and More

Aprill 29, 2023 - The boardroom was standing room only on Thursday, April 27, for the Board of Trustees meeting where approximately 140 students and teachers were recognized for their accomplishments in a variety of activities from sports and fine arts to student organizations and leadership.

Many of the honorees were celebrated for qualifying for state competitions including powerlifters from Canyon High and Davenport High with 4A silver medalist Lily Falcone, athletic trainers from Smithson Valley High Quiz Bowl champions, DECA students from Pieper High with international champion Holt Miller, Business Professionals of America (BPA) from CHS, SkillsUSA students from CHS, Canyon Lake High with several gold, silver and bronze medalists listed below, Danville Middle, Spring Branch Middle and Smithson Valley Middle, UIL debate from SVHS and b from CHS with Jacob Merson and Christopher Reyes earning $10,000 scholarships.

SkillsUSA students from CLHS earning gold medals include Mo Colligan, Elizabeth Elliott, Logan Fahrney, Rykyr Jackson, McKayla Nichols, Nathan Sweet and Lilah Windle; silver medalists include Colligan, Fahrney, Nichols and Kailey Russell; and bronze medalists include Josh Bryan.

A special recognition was made by Texas PTA President-Elect Jennifer Easley to the CLHS cheer team which performed during this year’s Texas PTA Rally Day at the State Capitol on Feb. 27.

This year’s Comal Shake and Comal Speaks b were recognized as well. They are Lylah Yerrington, a fourth-grade student from Indian Springs Elementary; and Rylan Frech, an eighth-grade student from Church Hill Middle School. Read the Comal Shake story here; the Comal Speaks here.

Gifted and talented students from Oak Creek Elementary School were recognized for placing first and third at the state level in The Stock Market Game which simulates global capital markets and engages students in the world of economics, investing and personal finance. Two fourth-grade teams placed at the state level. The first-place team included Emma Bujnoch, Raelynne Easter and Ezekiela Icban; the third-place team included Cooper Fox, Joseph Lewis, James Saldiva and Carter Henslee. Additionally, Fox was named a finalist for the InvestWrite portion of the competition.

Rounding out the student recognitions were members of the First Lego League robotic team from Kinder Ranch Elementary which qualified for the first-ever state competition. Team members included b Annie Gaston, Kellen Gibson, Joaquin Gloria, Ethan Harrell, Isabella Jimenez, Sebastian Loustaunau, Ander Romero and Addison Webb. Read more about the competition and the KRES team here.

In addition to students being recognized this month's honorees included teachers as well. The 2022-2023 Comal ISD Leadership Academy Cohort of 11 teachers were recognized for completing this year's academy, which was established to grow aspiring leaders from within the district and prepare them for leadership opportunities. These current educators met monthly on Wednesday evenings for the entire school year. They include Meredith Clark, Tiffany Cooper, Jennifer Eskew, Eric Evans, Bailey Goodenough, Jessica McCoy, Liesel Raabe, Kody Reahm, Megan Sherrill, Brandon Villareal and Amanda Whaley.

The district's theater department was honored as well for receiving the Texas Thespians Premiere Communities for Theatre Education Award. Comal ISD became one of the first school districts in the state to earn this award with only nine receiving it and more than 1,026 eligible. This highlights the work that the 17 secondary theater teachers do every day to showcase and hone student talent on the stage as well as behind the scenes. Read the full story here.

See all April Honorees here.



-Automotive Technology from Canyon High School.

-Canyon Lake High School cheer team and Texas PTA President Elect Jennifer Easley

-Debate state qualifiers from Smithson Valley High School

-Stock Market Game state winners from Oak Creek Elementary

-First Lego League robotics state qualifiers from Kinder Ranch Elementary

-Powerlifting state qualifiers form Davenport High and Canyon High

-DECA state qualifiers from Pieper High School

-Athletic trainers from Smithson Valley High School

-The 2022-2023 Comal ISD Leadership Academy Cohort

-SkillsUSA construction state qualifiers from Canyon High

-SkillsUSA state qualifiers from Canyon Lake High

-SkillsUSA state qualifiers from Canyon High

-Skills USA state qualifiers from Danville Middle School

-SkillsUSA state qualifiers from Spring Branch Middle School

-SkillsUSA state qualifiers from Smithson Valley Middle School

-Comal Shake 2023 Champion Lylah Yerrington

-Comal Speaks 2023 Champion Rylan Frech

-Comal ISD secondary theater teachers


Read more Comal ISD news here.